Skip to content Skip to footer

Scholarships, Awards and Bursaries

Sponsored by the Alberta-British Columbia Seed Growers Association

ABCSG’s goal is to assist and reward students seeking secondary education in all aspects of agriculture, technology, and innovation. The scholarships and awards listed below are administered by the educational institution indicated. Potential recipients must apply using the guidelines provided by each College or University. Letters of request for the British Columbia Bursary are to be submitted to the ABCSG Office by mail or email.

As of September 2021, the ABCSG Board increased their funding to $1000 across all education facilities for future scholarships and awards.

University of Alberta Scholarship $1000 – Awarded Annually

Alberta-British Columbia Seed Growers Association Scholarship

Awarded to a student with superior academic achievement enrolled in the second or subsequent years of a Bachelor of Science in Agriculture with a major in Crop Science or Sustainable Agricultural Systems or a Bachelor of Science in Environmental and Conservation Sciences with a major in Land Reclamation. Selection based on:

Academic standing, demonstrated innovation, demonstrated interest in crop production and technology.

Annually funded by the Alberta-British Columbia Branch of the Canadian Seed Growers Association

Deadline: March 31st each year for the coming academic year

Past Recipients:

  • Alessia Marchesan, 2022-2023
  • Keyonna Derr, 2021-2022
  • Connor Johnson, 2020-2021
  • Hui Liu, 2019-2020
Lakeland College Award $1000 – Awarded Annually

Alberta-British Columbia Seed Growers Award

Established in 1991, the Alberta Seed Growers’ Award is available to a 2nd year full-time student enrolled in the Crop Technology or Agribusiness program, based on the following criteria:

  • Displays academic excellence.
  • Preference given to Alberta and British Columbia residents.

Deadline: January 31st

Past Recipients:

  • Nathaniel Cordes, 2022-2023
  • Ryan Urichuk, 2021-2022
  • Graham Stuparyk, 2020-2021
  • Hanna Snelgrove, 2019-2020
Olds College Award $1000 – Awarded Annually

Alberta-British Columbia Seed Growers Award

Available to returning students enrolled full-time in the Agricultural Management Diploma, Bachelor of Applied Science Agribusiness Degree, Precision Agriculture Techgronomy Diploma & Agriculture Technology Integration Post-Diploma Certificate program. Awarded on the basis of academic achievement in the previous year of enrollment.

Deadline: January 31st

Past Recipients:

  • Shae-Lynn Seib, 2023-2024
  • Kenneth Murray, 2022-2023
  • Karl Siebenga, 2021-2022
Lethbridge College Scholarship $1000 – Awarded Annually

Alberta-British Columbia Seed Growers Award

Awarded to a full-time continuing student in Agriculture Sciences, Agronomy major, who demonstrated academic excellence upon completion of Year I. Please note that the annual recipient’s name will be posted on the donor’s web site. (If you are unwilling to have your name shared in this way, please decline award through the Student Awards office.)

Deadline: May 1st

Past Recipients:

  • Kaleb Olfert, 2023-2024
  • Nathan Schnoor, 2022-2023
  • Claire Armstrong, 2021-2022
  • Shane Quinton, 2020-2021
  • Brady Donkersgoed, 2019-2020
  • Grant Vossebelt, 2018-2019
British Columbia Bursary $1000 – Awarded Annually

The British Columbia Branch of the Canadian Seed Growers provided this opportunity to further the education prospects for rural British Columbia students. At the time of their merger with the Alberta Branch it was their request that this award continue. This award is open to students that resided in British Columbia for their primary education.

There are many education disciplines that contribute to improving the life and productivity of rural communities. Submit a letter describing how your secondary education will contribute to rural community development or to the farm community. Applicants will be assessed on the grade standing of their last completed year of study, a transcript must be included. Application letters are to be mailed or emailed to the address shown below:

Mail to:

  • Alberta-British Columbia Seed Growers
  • PO Box 50064, RPO Cornerstone Plaza
  • Okotoks, Alberta  T1S 0C4

Email to:

Deadline: January 31st

New Award from Alberta-British Columbia Seed Growers